Phlegar dominates Jerry’s Nugget Series Super Pro division at The Strip
John Phlegar dominated the Super Pro class May 15. (John Bisci)
John Bisci
Sunday, May 16, 2004


May 15, 2004


 Phlegar dominates Jerry’s Nugget Series Super Pro division at

The Strip at LVMS;

Lamb, Valandingham share NHRA Jr. Dragster honors



John Phlegar of Las Vegas defeated Bob Farnum to claim his first final-round victory of the 2004 season in the Super Pro division at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.  Phlegar, a former Jerry’s Nugget Championship Drag Racing Series champion, ran 128.41 mph/10.077 sec. in his Marie Callender’s 1972 Chevelle to Farnum’s 171.948 mph/7.948 sec. breakout run.  It was Phlegar’s night to shine as he also earned No. 1 Qualifier status and won the Run-for-the-Money competition.  Phlegar defeated his wife, Becky, in the semi-final for the right to face Farnum in the final round.

Michael Jackson of Las Vegas also scored his first win of the 2004 season by defeating Dan Reaume of Kingman , Ariz. , in the final round of Pro competition.

Ron Winters of Las Vegas defeated John Irving of Boulder City for Street honors.

            Kahea Woods won the Motorcycle division and Bill Dudley added yet another trophy to his Sport Compact hardware collection.

            Jerry’s Nugget Casino Reaction-Time Bonus Awards were won by Erik Marsik (Pro), Mike Dobrenko (Street), Chris Naffziger (Super Pro, with a .500), Leo Shaver (Motorcycle) and Jamie Martin (Street).  The prize is awarded to the driver/rider who posts the best reaction time on a winning run in the first round of competition.

            The West Coast Corvette Challenge final was won by Nat Hodgdon of Las Vegas .

            On Saturday morning, Ryen Lamb of Henderson won the Thunder division and Ryan Valandingham of Kingman , Ariz. , claimed the Lightning class in Short Line Express Markets NHRA Jr. Dragster competition.

The Jerry’s Nugget Championship Drag Racing Series continues at The Strip on May 22 with the fourth points race of the 2004 season.


Results, including: driver/rider, hometown, vehicle, reaction time, elapsed time (E.T.) and speed.



Winner: John Phlegar ( Las Vegas ) 1972 Chevelle  .544  10.077 sec./128.41 mph.

Runner-up: Bob Farnum ( Las Vegas ) ’92 Meyer dragster  .518  7.948 sec./171.95 mph.

No. 1 Qualifier: John Phlegar ( Las Vegas ).



Winner: Michael Jackson ( Las Vegas ) El Camino  .553  11.607 sec./115.25 mph.

Runner-up: Dan Reaume ( Kingman , Ariz. ) 1964 Ranchero  .550  10.853 sec./118.29 mph.

No. 1 Qualifier: Richard Alderete ( Las Vegas ).



Winner: Ron Winters ( Las Vegas ) 1968 El Camino  .543  16.729 sec./71.32 mph.

Runner-up: John Irving ( Boulder City ) 2002 Camaro  .646  13.635 sec./103.65 mph.

No. 1 Qualifier: John Irving ( Boulder City ).



Winner: Kahea Woods ( Las Vegas ) 1995 Suzuki  .454  8.857 sec./139.52 mph.

Runner-up: Eric Danielson Jr. ( Las Vegas ) 2003 Kawasaki   .635  11.898 sec./120.36 mph.



Winner: Bill Dudley ( Las Vegas ) 1987 Nissan  .576  18.336 sec./75.06 mph.

Runner-up: Aaron Kimball ( Las Vegas ) 1992 Maxima  .490 (foul)  15.941 sec./85.86 mph.

No. 1 Qualifier: Aaron Kimball ( Las Vegas ).



Winner: Nat Hogdon ( Las Vegas ) 1998 Corvette  .830  13.765 sec./102.04 mph.

Runner-up: Al Adams ( Gardena , Calif. ) 2000 Corvette  .666  12.727 sec./107.96 mph.

No. 1 Qualifier: James Ranney ( Las Vegas ).



Winner: Ryen Lamb (Henderson)  .748  12.927 sec./48.16 mph.

Runner-up: Marchella Jackson ( Las Vegas )  1.080  15.062 sec./43.02 mph.

No. 1 Qualifier: Justin Ebel ( Las Vegas ).



Winner: Ryan Valandingham ( Kingman , Ariz. )  .540  8.019 sec./80.68 mph.

Runner-up: Tristan Craig (Henderson) .469 8.962 sec./72.48 mph.

No. 1 Qualifier: Karly Wyatt ( Kingman , Ariz. ).


Discuss | Email to a Friend